Composition of the House (9TH legislature :2011-2016)

The House of Representatives holds two sessions a year, the April session and the October session, each lasts 4 months. Parliament may also be convened in extraordinary session by the request of the government or the third of the house members.

The current Parliament is composed of 395 MPs who were elected by direct ballot on November 25, 2011 for a mandate of five years: A total of 305 members were elected through local lists and 90 members through national lists, including 60 seats reserved for women and 30 for youth.

MPs’ average age in the current legislative mandate fell to 47.8, compared to the previous legislative mandate (2007-2011) whereby the average age stood at 50.6.Moreover, the proportion of deputies under the age of 40 increased to 23%, against only 12% in the previous legislative mandate. The total number of deputies under the age of 45 is 140.

In addition to deputies’ lower age, the current legislative mandate is marked by a significant number of new deputies, representing 67.34% of the total number of MPs.

The distribution of deputies by educational level

The distribution of deputies by sex

The distribution of deputies by professional sectors


Political parties represented in the House of Representatives (February 2012)

Party Number of deputies
Party of Justice and Development 107
Istiqlal Party 60
National gathering of Independents Party 52
Authenticity and Modernity Party 47
Socialist Union of Popular Forces Party 39
Popular Movement Party 32
Constitutional Union Party 23
Party of Progress and Socialism 18
Workers’ Party  4
Social Democratic Movement Party  2
Modernity and equity Party  2
Environment and Sustainable Development Party  2
Al Ahd Addimocrati Party 2
Moroccan Green Left party  1
Freedom and Social Justice Party  1
Democratic Forces Front Party 1
Labor Party 1
Unity and Democracy Party 1
Total 395





The President of the House of Representatives is elected twice by secret ballot, at the beginning of the legislative mandate and in the April session of the third year of this legislature. He ensures the proper functioning of the House of Representatives and coordination between the various bodies of the House. He also presides over the Bureau, presidents’ conference and plenary sessions, in addition to other functions set out in the constitution.View page of Président 


consists of the President, eight Vice-Presidents, two quaestors and three parliamentary secretaries. The Bureau members are elected at the beginning of the legislative mandate and in the April session of the third year of the legislature, on the basis of proportional representation for each group. It ensures the overall management of the House and draws up its agenda.access to page of Board 

Group and Parliamentary Groups: 

parliamentary group consist of at least twenty deputies belonging to one or more political parties, chaired by one of its members.

Groups, for their part, consist of at least four parliamentary deputies not members in parliamentary groups. The Bureau of the House of Representatives provides parliamentary group and groups with different human and material resources to support deputies in the exercise of their functions. View list of Groups and Parliamentary Groups 

Presidents’ Conference:

It is composed of the President of the House of Representatives, the presidents of parliamentary groups, the Chairmen of the Standing Committees and the Vice-Presidents of the House. 

Parliamentary committees:

the chairs of parliamentary committees are elected at the beginning of the legislative mandate, and in the April session of the third year of the same legislature. There are eight parliamentary committees in the current legislative mandate. Access to space of Parliamentary standing committees  

Secretary General's office:

it is composed of various departments and administrative services under the supervision of the Secretary General. It provides support and administrative services relating to the different functions and competences of the House of Representatives. Approach to biography of the general secretary